Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books to Read If You Like Saga by Brian K. Vaughan

toptentuesday

(I haven’t done one of these in probably over 2 years! This is exciting!)

Thanks to The Broke and the Bookish for creating this meme!

Today’s Topic: September 29: Ten Books to Read if You Like This Super Popular Book/Author (i.e. you could list 10 different popular/bestselling books or authors with readalike suggestions for each or give 10 books for one best-selling/popular book or author like 10 authors to read if you like John Green or 10 books to read if you like Gone Girl.)

I decided to talk about graphic novels and manga instead of books for this one since more seem to come to mind at the moment. Anyone who knows me, knows that I absolutely ADORE Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples. It’s such a fantastic series (and can the last one just get released already please?).

15704307 17131869 21506712 23093367


271199 836606 836607

  • Fruits Basket by Natsuki Takaya. This one is probably more popular but it’s SUCH a great series spanning 23 books (I’ve read it twice…oops). It’s sort of like Saga in that you have a light and fluffy story in the beginning then get a lot of dark twists and turns.

472331 17137602 17137599

21823465 23331563 25624966

  • Alex + Ada by Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn. In the same style as Saga, Image comics published another great series, and this one is about a guy and his AI robot. Throw love, political strife, and mystery into the mix, and you’ve got an excellent series on your hands.

7338243 7326875 8174533

  • Library Wars by Kiiro Yumi. God I love this series; this manga is STILL going at 15 volumes and it seems to just keep getting better. In typical manga fashion it has angst, mystery, oh yeah, and the libraries have these awesome kick-ass soldiers who fight to keep them protected. What’s not to love?

20575446 (1)

  • In Real Life by Cory Doctorow and Jen Wang. Not a series, but still an excellent stand-alone graphic novel. A girl immerses herself into an RPG and forms friendships with a variety of people, all while trying to help out someone solve their socio-economic problems on the other side of the world. SO cool.

9516 9517 991197

  • Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi. A two part series that is just fantastic. Lot’s of political and feminist commentary about real life events that gets you thinking about our current political and social state (similar to the wars going on in Saga).

15196 15197 15195

  • Maus by Art Spiegelman. Another two part series that is really heart-wrenching and covers the story of the Holocaust with the Nazi’s as cats and the Jews as mice. A very emotional read and something I recommend to pick up right after Persepolis (preferably on a rainy day. Really sets the mood).

10954336 12413203 15744161

  • A Bride’s Story by Kaoru Mori. 7 part series and continuing. Definitely a lesser known manga, but the illustrations are surpass anything else I’ve ever seen. Has a very distinct artistic style like Saga, and tells the story of a child bride in the 19th century Silk Road (also she hunts and is totally kick-ass).

13436373 10123763 18225810

  • Anything by Raina Telgemeier. The three I show above are her most well-known graphic novels (I like Drama the best) and they are fantastic middle grade reads. I read them all within about an hour this summer and fell in love with her unique style, voice, and way of connecting with readers.

8928004 13541584

  • Page by Paige by Laura Lee Gulledge. This one has an especially soft spot in my heart since they character’s name is Paige Turner (sound familiar?). I feel in love with everything about Ms. Gulledge’s graphic novels and almost cried when I got this one for Christmas. SUCH a fantastic story about growing up and loving yourself. How you can you ask for anything more?

 

Have you read any of the books/series on my list? What list have you compiled? Leave links in the description! I’d love to check them out!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s