Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks

Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks
Series: N/A (unfortunately)
Published by First Second on February 28, 2012
Genres: Graphic novel, paranormal, young adult
Pages: 220 : Paperback edition
Source: Purchased at a Scholastic Warehouse sale
Add to Goodreads

After years of homeschooling, Maggie is starting high school. It’s pretty terrifying.

Maggie’s big brothers are there to watch her back, but ever since Mom left it just hasn’t been the same.

Besides her brothers, Maggie’s never had any real friends before. Lucy and Alistair don’t have lots of friends either. But they eat lunch with her at school and bring her along on their small-town adventures.

Missing mothers…distant brothers…high school…new friends… It’s a lot to deal with. But there’s just one more thing.

MAGGIE IS HAUNTED.

Oh. My. GOD. I loved this graphic novel beyond words (well obviously not too beyond words since I am writing a review for it). Irregardless, this was amazing! I cannot figure out, for the life of me, why I had stuck this up on my shelf and never picked it up before. I have seen this before in bookstores and a couple other places and was really intrigued by the cover, artwork, and title, but didn’t really think anything of it until now.

That being said, once I opened this I literally did not close it until I finished it about a half hour later. I was immediately pulled in by the characters, the drawings, all their backstories, the plot, everything! I devoured this so quickly because number one it is an easy read and the material is not too dense, but it’s real enough that I felt as if these characters were quickly becoming people who were sitting around me, watching over my shoulder as I poured through it.

I think I also personally related to this too, since it went through a couple struggles that I experienced in high school (unfortunately, sans brothers) and I felt as if the whole thing was very…real. This is certainly going down as one of my favorite graphic novel reads of the year and I highly recommend this to anyone who is entering high school or beyond; it’s a lovely little story!

Side note: Alistair? Totally my new graphic novel boyfriend (watch out Marko).

One thought on “Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks

  1. Pingback: July Wrap Up/August TBR | The Paige-Turner

Leave a Reply

