The Best Kind of Trouble by Lauren Dane

The Best Kind of Trouble by Lauren Dane
Series: The Hurley Boys #1
Published on August 26, 2014
Genres: Love, Romance
Pages: 384 : Paperback edition
Source: Purchased on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

She has complete control… and he’s determined to take it away

A librarian in the small town of Hood River, Natalie Clayton’s world is very nearly perfect. After a turbulent childhood and her once-wild ways, life is now under control. But trouble has a way of turning up unexpectedly—especially in the tall, charismatically sexy form of Paddy Hurley….

And Paddy is the kind of trouble that Natalie has a taste for.

Even after years of the rock and roll lifestyle, Paddy never forgot the two wickedly hot weeks he once shared with Natalie. Now he wants more… even if it means tempting Natalie and her iron-grip control. But there’s a fine line between well-behaved and misbehaved—and the only compromise is between the sheets!

Disclaimer: I did not finish this book….reasons why to come.

So I definitely think this book had tons of potential. There was an enticing plot line, a steamy romance, and there was bound to be some conflict along the way, a nice cover, but overall it just fell really flat for me.

From the very beginning I was not pulled in at all by either of the characters so when they were talking throughout the novel I found myself zoning out quite frequently, then jumping back in and it felt like they were still talking about the same darn things! I didn’t feel the chemistry between them at all either and was hoping that some conflict would come up soon so I could feel some energy be thrown into the book…but then the conflict did come and it felt SO forced. I’m pretty dramatic but I was kind of like dang girl chill.

I also felt that there was a lot of “telling” and not a lot of “showing”. Show me what the characters are doing, don’t just tell me. So that was kind of frustrating too. I think I got about 40% of the way through when I finally called it quits on this one. I’ll be sending this off to my used bookstore; hopefully someone else will find it more enticing.

And now I’m really craving a Nora Roberts romance to put me back in the mood for reading…

One thought on “The Best Kind of Trouble by Lauren Dane

  1. Pingback: March Wrap Up/April TBR | The Paige-Turner

Leave a Reply

