50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James

50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James
Series: Fifty Shades #1
Published on June 20, 2011
Genres: “Erotica”
Pages: 514 : Paperback edition
Source: Checked out from my local library
Add to Goodreads

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

This book is intended for mature audiences.

Warning: The following review has cursing and mentions of 50 Shades of Grey

I’m going to admit right up front that I was not thrilled to start this book from the very beginning. My roommate and I actually picked it up as a joke because we thought we would go see the movie together on Valentine’s Day. Then, we started the book…and all of those plans flew out the window.

She definitely got a lot further than I did (she made it about 3/4ths of the way through and I only made it to page 139 before I literally threw the piece of crap across the room). However, we both stopped reading it because Christian Grey and Ana Steele are two of the most infuriating characters that have ever, unfortunately, been brought into existence. He is overbearing and controlling which grates at my feminist nerves, while she is literally the dumbest person I have ever had the displeasure of reading about.

On top of that, the writing is stale and extremely stop and go. It jumps around faster than a kangaroo and bored me to death. I stopped after the first sex scene because I was so bored. I’ve read fanfiction with better sex scenes, and definitely have read better sex scenes in romance novels. I mean, come on! Sex should not be boring! Add to that that he calls her baby which is a huge warning sign/trigger for me and I was SO done.

I could not fathom reading any further into this three part series. How the hell does the public like this literary piece of trash? No seriously, tell me. I just don’t get it. Going off of this point, please don’t go see the movie. From what I’ve gathered from the rest of the novel (other than the complete shittiness of it) it also glorifies abuse and does not portray BDSM in a safe way at all. Do not help promote this author or world of abuse that women are living every single day.

Sidenote: I’m also so embarrassed to be writing this review at work, that I’m hunched over my computer to hide my screen from any wayward glancing eyes. That alone shows you how much you SHOULD NOT READ THIS BOOK. 0/5 stars

4 thoughts on “50 Shades of Grey by E.L. James

  1. *shudders* Ugh, I have heard soooo many terrible things about this book. (Apparently it doesn’t even accurately portray BDSM and Christian Grey is just plain abusive???) Tbh, I think the “appeal,” such as it is, is that it’s… well… risque. It’s shocking. And people want to get “in” on that hype. :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

