Torn True Love by K.D. Ferguson

Torn True Love by K.D. Ferguson
Series: Torn
Published on May 7, 2014
Genres: Love, Romance, Dystopian
Pages: 230 : Kindle edition
Source: Received from the author in exchange for an honest review
Add to Goodreads

Everyone has a choice. Abide by the government’s rules and regulations and you may live the average life. Or you can become a Sweeper. Krissa Channing’s destination was clear until Braiden entered her life and clouded her future.

Krissa’s future, which once seemed so promising, is compromised when her relationship with Braiden is forced by the hands of the government. The pressure of an automatic pairing pushes them both down a path they never dreamed they’d travel.

While Krissa accepts the change, Braiden revolts against the government leaving Krissa alone, her heart torn. Should she follow the rules and regulations and continue down the road mapped out for her? Or should she go against everything she’s been taught and follow after her true love?

I’m not sure if it was the stress of the holiday’s or I just am not feeling dystopian stories as of late, but I just could not finish this book. I did like the premise of it and it sounded exciting, but I think once it was executed, it kind of felt like other dystopian tales in the genre.

I wasn’t completely taken with Krissa in the beginning, mainly because she seemed to change her mind a lot and latched onto boys extremely quickly, which is fine, but not something I can honestly relate to. I also wasn’t that taken with Braiden either, and didn’t connect with him.

Again, I think the idea is there, but the characters pulled the story back for me and I wasn’t completely invested into the story as much as I had hoped I would be. I would recommend this to people who like The Hunger Games since it sort of has the same themes of sectioned parts of the city and different “classes” per say, and to people who like romance in dystopian novels. Overall, 3/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

