Love, Lucy by April Lindner

Love, Lucy by April Lindner
Series: N/A
Published on January 27, 2015
Genres: Love, Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 304 : Paperback
Source: Received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Add to Goodreads

While backpacking through Florence, Italy, during the summer before she heads off to college, Lucy Sommersworth finds herself falling in love with the culture, the architecture, the food…and Jesse Palladino, a handsome street musician. After a whirlwind romance, Lucy returns home, determined to move on from her “vacation flirtation.” But just because summer is over doesn’t mean Lucy and Jesse are over, too.

In this coming-of-age romance, April Lindner perfectly captures the highs and lows of a summer love that might just be meant to last beyond the season.

Before writing this review I was reading others on Goodreads and I discovered that this was a modern retelling of A Room With a View by E.M. Forester. While I was reading, that fact did not cross my mind at all (for some weird reason, since I have read the classic novel). So knowing that fact…here is my review:

I strongly liked this book. I can’t say that I loved it just because I think the beginning went in circles a lot and I really wanted to get down to the nitty gritty of the story. That being said, I did like that Ms. Lindner took the time to really explore and show the readers the sights, sounds, and smells of Italy from the very start. Writing a book where lot’s of travelling takes place sounds difficult based on that fact alone if the author is not in Italy (or wherever) so I did appreciate the amount of detail put into the setting.

Characters themselves sort of fell flat for me though. For me to really love a story, I have to get the full package and I think the weak characters let me down. There were lot’s of cliche’s in their personas, and I think I just wanted more originality overall.

It was a cute story, though, and perfect for the upcoming year, so I would check this out if you’re fans of Anna and the French Kiss and other stories of that like!

5 thoughts on “Love, Lucy by April Lindner

  1. I thought this book sounded like something I’d like. I’m not a fan of weak characters either though, so I’m not sure now. But then you go and say fans of Anna and the French Kiss will like it. I think I’ll have to read this one and see.

    Like

  2. I enjoyed Anna and The French Kiss, (not as much as others) but I am intrigued by stories set in other countries, so maybeeeeee I’ll add this to my TBR. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: December Wrap Up/January TBR | The Paige-Turner

Leave a Reply

