The One by Kiera Cass

The One by Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection
Published by HarperTeen on May 6, 2014
Genres: Love, Romance, Contemporary, Royalty
Pages: 323 : Hardback edition
Source: Checked out from my local library
Add to Goodreads

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

So I know I talked a lot in my review of The Elite about how I was getting a bit tired of the story and it was suffering from middle book syndrome, but oh my god this one made trudging through that SO much better! I literally just finished this and let me just tell you that I am a wreck.

This had so many twists and turns, and I want to talk about so many spoiler alerts but gah! Just go read it!

Anyways, I really liked that this didn’t focus so much on the whole “Who do I love more? Aspen or Maxon?” thing and focused in more on the ending of the selection and the political side of this entire world. We are introduced to so many cool characters this time around (including one named Paige! Woo!) and I just cannot wait to buy this for myself to read again and again.

There was also so many times when I had to reread things to make sure I was reading it right, and then gasp aloud at my shock of how the story was progressing. I expected this to be more fluff and just blah blah blah, but it ended up being so, so, good and I can’t wait to buy the one that is coming after this (called The Heir, I believe?).

So if you suffered through the second one and have made it this far then do yourself a HUGE favor and read this right now! It’s so worth it and I think I must have finished in the span of one day. Two thumbs (or crowns?) up!

2 thoughts on “The One by Kiera Cass

  1. I agree :D! The One was much better than the first two, but I did like the second :). I had no idea The Heir was coming until i saw a post about it. it just seemed like The One would be the final… haha.

    Like

  2. Pingback: December Wrap Up/January TBR | The Paige-Turner

Leave a Reply

