Series Review: Fruits Basket (Volume 1-23) by Natsuki Takaya

Fruits Basket (Volume 1-23) by Natsuki Takaya
Series: Fruits Basket
Published by Tokyo Pop from 1999-2007 (complete)
Genres: Love, Romance, Shojo Manga, Zodiac
Pages: Approx. 180-210 : Paperback edition
Source: I own the entire series
Add to Goodreads

A family with an ancient curse…

And the girl who will change their lives forever…

Tohru Honda was an orphan with no place to go until the mysterious Sohma family offered her a place to call home. Now her ordinary high school life is turned upside down as she’s introduced to the Sohma’s world of magical curses and family secrets.

          46911 46908 46906 244812 271198 271244 1258027 1586905 1854354 5321671 5322056

Back in high school I first watched the anime series of Fruits Basket since one of my friend referred it to me after I had gotten back from a trip to China and had learned about the folk tale of the Zodiac animals. Not long after, I picked up the manga because it goes so much further in depth into the characters and a bunch of different plot lines.

The series took me about 3 or 4 days to read because they’re that good and really keep you interested. Nothing feels recycled or boring about it, and I really like how a bunch of different plots came full circle and started to make sense. Not to mention that there were a couple different plot twists that I just LOVED!

For me, this will forever be held up as a beacon to other mangas because it is my all-time favorite manga and continues to impress me every time I read it. You think it starts out light and fluffy, but then becomes serious fairly quickly and deals with real issues.

I could go on and on about this series, but I just have to say check it out yourself! I always suggest this to everyone who is interested in getting into the manga genre since I think it was one of the first really popular one’s of its time here in America, and there’s a reason for it! Fruits Basket is, and always will be, my favorite (not to mention all the boys are hot, hot, hot!).

One thought on “Series Review: Fruits Basket (Volume 1-23) by Natsuki Takaya

  1. Pingback: November Wrap Up/December TBR | The Paige-Turner

Leave a Reply

